Virunga National Park

Virunga National Park is located is in the Democratic Republic of Congo. The park provides a home to numerous species of wildlife, including 200 of the world’s critically endangered mountain gorillas and a small population of eastern lowland gorillas.
The Virunga National Park is a 7,800-square-kilometre (3,000 sq mi) National Park that stretches from the Virunga Mountains in the South, to the Rwenzori Mountains in the North, in the eastern Democratic Republic of the Congo, bordering Volcanoes National Park in Rwanda and Rwenzori Mountains National Park and Queen Elizabeth National Park in Uganda.
Savanna and forest elephants as well as chimpanzees and low land gorillas can still be found in Virunga, along with Okapi, giraffes, buffaloes and many endemic birds.

Nyiragongo Volcano

Nyiragongo volcano is located inside Virunga National Park, in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, about 20 km (12 mi) north of the town of Goma and Lake Kivu and just west of the border with Rwanda. It is an active volcano and the most active in Africa. Nyiragongo is one of eight volcanoes in the Virunga Mountains. It is located near the town of Goma in the eastern Democratic Republic of Congo. Nyiragongo volcano consists of three overlapping stratovolcanoes. Baruta about 3100 m to the north, Nyiragongo (3470 m) and Shaheru (2800 m) to the south. It is renowned for long active lava lakes which appear in the summit crater. Nyiragongo’s lava lake has at times been the most capacious known lava lake in recent history.